Sandwiches in Review: Domino’s New Oven Baked Sandwiches

October 4, 2009

Domino’s Pizza, a locally based pizza franchise,  recently expanded their menu to include pasta and sandwiches, and while I can’t speak to the pasta, sandwiches are right up my alley.  The initial sandwich offerings were somewhat pedestrian, with choices similar to Marco’s or other pizza crossovers.  While I’m sure they were good, they didn’t pique my curiosity at all.  However, their new line of sandwiches looks far more innovative.  Have a look:

TA-DA!!

TA-DA!!

As you can see, these sandwiches are a far cry from the usual “ham and cheese, italian, etc.” of many sandwich shops.  I decided to try the Buffalo Chicken with Blue Cheese.  The sandwiches are slightly smaller than you might expect; they’re certainly sandwiches as opposed to subs.  The chicken was flavorful and generous.  The blue cheese sauce was paired well with onions, a combination which really helped define the sandwich.  My one complaint was the inclusion of a hot sauce in the same vein of Frank’s Red Hot.  I personally dislike this type of sauce (particularly after a certain chili-eating contest in my past) because of its high vinegar content.  The sauce kept the sandwich from being truly great, but at $4.99, it’s definitely worth checking out.

I was holding off on posting this review because I also wanted to try the Mediterranean Veggie sandwich.  I realized I haven’t really posted a whole lot of vegetarian-friendly content here yet, and I thought that that particular sandwich looked delicious.  I wanted to get another post up here as soon as I could, but I hope to come back and either amend this review or post a follow up about the Mediterranean Veggie soon.

One Response to “Sandwiches in Review: Domino’s New Oven Baked Sandwiches”

  1. james Says:

    First time getting these sandwoches(CBR and Philly CS) both very tasty. Nothing better to compliment a night of liquor and beer.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,172 other followers

