Sandwiches in Review: The McGriddles

June 2, 2010

Breakfast sandwiches haven’t been discussed on Sandwichtalk yet, mainly because I have a hard time making it out to a restaurant before the 10:30-11:00 changeover to the lunch menu.  However, now that Sandwichtalk is nearly a year old, I want to branch out a little bit, and what better way to start than with one of the strangest breakfast sandwiches around, the McGriddles?

Not a hoax!! Not a dream!!

The McGriddles (yes, the ‘s’ is part of the name) is a McDonald’s breakfast sandwich which includes scrambled eggs, american cheese, and either bacon or sausage (they also serve a sausage-only variant).  What sets it apart from other sandwiches is the bun, a pancake-like creation with maple syrup flavoring baked in.  I was as skeptical as any of you, but in the name of Sandwichtalk I decided to try one.

I had the Bacon Egg and Cheese McGriddles.  It was actually quite a bit smaller than I expected, but that didn’t keep it from being delicious.  The buns were sweet, but more subtle and less processed-tasting than I expected.  It may seem counterintuitive, but think of it this way: people have been eating eggs, meat and pancakes for centuries, this just takes a few extra steps out of the process.  I think the sausage McGriddles might have complemented itself better, but I’m a sucker for bacon, and I don’t regret it.  Overall, a pretty good, relatively inexpensive breakfast.  Obviously, it’s got a lot of sugar and fat and whatnot, so I wouldn’t recommend it on a daily basis, but try it once in a while to shake up your morning routine.

2 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: The McGriddles”

  1. Mara Says:

    Yummmmmmm. You can also get them without the meat, and it still tastes delicious.


  2. […] However, I was blinded by my love for bacon, and essentially forgot why I had come.  While the Bacon, Egg and Cheese McGriddles isn’t bad or anything, I thought it was high time I reviewed the McGriddles the way God […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers

