Sandwiches in Review: Steak and Shake’s Carolina Slaw Steak Frank

November 14, 2011

A while back, Steak ‘n Shake introduced a line of hot dogs topped with various cheeses, sauces and other stuff.  They’re not unlike their regionally themed burgers in terms of ingredients, and come with fries and a drink.  I’ve been dragging my feet on trying one.  Hot dogs aren’t a super high quality meal, and while they’re a staple of ball parks and food courts, the idea of going out to eat and ordering one over a burger doesn’t seem too appealing to me.  I finally bit the bullet and decided to try the Carolina Slaw.

Third from the top.

And I’m really glad I did.  If you’re going to order a hot dog from a restaurant, Steak ‘n Shake is the place to do it.  While “signature steak franks” sounds a bit grandiose, but this is actually a genuinely high quality, tasty frank.  The Carolina Slaw’s hook is the addition of cole slaw and mustard.  It’s good cole slaw, and there’s plenty of it.  It adds a nice texture to the dog, and is light enough that it doesn’t overpower the meat.  All in all it’s a clever idea executed well with top shelf ingredients.

The Carolina Slaw, like other steak franks, runs for about $4-5 as a combo.  I’d definitely recommend the one I tried, and would be willing to try another one.  Like I said before, it’s rare that I recommend a hot dog from a restaurant that serves other things, but this is one to try.

One Response to “Sandwiches in Review: Steak and Shake’s Carolina Slaw Steak Frank”


  1. […] may recall my pleasant surprise at Steak ‘n’ Shake’s Carolina Slaw hot dog.  I was impressed by the quality of the frank itself, as well as by the clever use of […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers

