Sandwiches in Review: Arby’s “Roastburgers”

July 10, 2009

Hopefully most of you are familiar with Arby’s.  Arby’s is a fast food chain, specializing primarily in roast beef sandwiches.  Arby’s also serves chicken sandwiches and nuggets, various deli and sub sandwiches, and curly fries and other sides.  I love Arby’s, and their sandwiches are almost always satisfying and well-priced.  However, Arby’s recently launched a new line of sandwiches called “Roastburgers”.  Arby’s apparently defines a burger not as a sandwich made of hamburger meat, but a sandwich with little meat and lots of filler.  I’d tried a Roastburger previously and didn’t feel much drive to repeat it, but a new summer deal on them seemed like an invitation.

Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together, mass hysteria!!

Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together, mass hysteria!!

Let’s begin by looking at the press release.  The “official sandwich of summer,” the BBQ Bacon Cheddar Roastburger features “oven-roasted, thinly sliced roast beef topped with cheddar cheese, pepper bacon, crispy onions, pickle slices and smoky barbecue sauce” as well as shredded lettuce and sliced tomato.  The biggest differences between this and any other roast beef sandwich at Arby’s arethe beef and the bun.  The roast beef is seasoned with something extra (you can see it if you look closely in the picture) to make it taste more hamburgery.  It’s actually kind of gross.  The bun is different from a usual fast food bun.  It’s somewhat more bread-like, but also more bland, and the texture is sub-par as well.  Other than that, most of the sandwich is just filler, without much flavor.  The lettuce, tomato, and cheese were all average, and I couldn’t taste the pickles or onions, for better or for worse.  The bacon was good, but it’s easily available on other superior Arby’s sandwiches (the Chicken Bacon Swiss comes to mind).  The barbecue sauce was probably the best part, better than that on the stackticon but below that of the western bbq n bacon.  Overall, a substandard meal.  But were not done yet…

Perhaps a bit of an exaggeration, but you get the idea.

Perhaps a bit of an exaggeration, but you get the idea.

The first time I had a Roastburger, I felt more bloated than I had in my entire life.  My stomach ached, and I felt nauseous.  This time my reaction wasn’t as severe, but it still upset my stomach.  I don’t really know why this happens.  I hope I’m allergic to something in the Roastburger, and that my reaction is unique to me, or at least uncommon.  If this isn’t the case, my second choice is that both times I’ve ordered the sandwich, it has been improperly prepared/cooked/something, causing my sickness.  However, it is entirely possible that Roastburgers contain ingredients which upset stomach and cause sickness in the general population.  I’m not making any claims that this is true, but is that a risk you really want to take?

In summation, the Roastburgersandwich is a substandard sandwich at best, and a potential health hazard at worst.  While this sandwich is an abomination, please don’t let it influence your overall opinion of Arby’s.  They have an amazing track record in terms of sandwiches as well as sides and milkshakes, so I for one believe they can be afforded one misstep.

P.S.  If you decide not to heed my warnings, let me at least offer you the deal I bought mine on.  Text your zipcode to 27297 and you’ll receive a coupon for a free BBQ Bacon Cheddar Roastburger with purchase of any size drink.  You may have to try a couple times, I did.  The texts can be sent through July 16th, and the coupon can be redeemed through July 19th.  Godspeed.

3 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: Arby’s “Roastburgers””


  1. […] 28, 2009 I discussed Arby’s major folly earlier on this blog, and I figured I owed it to them to review a sandwich which better displays […]

  2. paul Says:

    Agreed. The char flavoring was a huge turn off and the bread was doughy. The roll appeared stellar though. I don’t think I suffered gut rot like you did though.

  3. D. B. Says:

    I used to eat at Arby’s. I actually think the “sickness” is something new to Arby’s and not just their roastburgers. In the last four months I have eaten there twice after not eating there in about 6-8 months. The first time I was sick within about four hours after eating. I was sick for several hours, vomiting and diarrhea. About 2 months later I ate there again. This time several hours later I was sick again. It lasted two days this time. I will never eat there again. Not taking any chances. It was at two different Arbys. I think they have added something to their food that is making people sick. I googled them the second time and found on line that a lot of people are getting sick from their food.


Leave a Reply

