Op-Ed: Sandwich Sizes (plus a poll!!)

July 14, 2009

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, and I figure more voices should be heard.  How does everyone feel about mini/microburgers?  This seems to be a new trend in the fast food market (in addition to this summer’s fascination with barbecue sauce).  They’re being marketed a number of different ways, but the basic conceit is a meal which consists of three or four smaller burgers with fries and a drink, retailing around the same price as the usual burger/fries combo.  Often you can also order more burgers a la carte.  I’m split on this issue.  I am pretty strongly against variations like the BK Burger Shots at Burger King, where you receive six small, identical burgers with fries.  It runs cheaper than the usual BK burgers, but I personally would never choose six bland little burgers over some of their more inspired burgers, like the Mushroom and Swiss.  A better use of the theme occurs at Steak n Shake, where you order three sliders from a list of six, all of which feature their own sauces.  I like the idea of variety there.  However, I still prefer the idea of ordering one big specialty burger.  You may be trying more things and taking less of a risk trying many small burgers, but in my opinion the payoff is still smaller.  This concept was also tried a while back over at Quizno’s with their Sammies, miniature versions of a couple of their signature subs.  I see these little sandwiches as being potentially useful as samples, but never really satisfying. 

Of course, I have to note the great exception to my general rule, White Castle.  A true triumph of the American spirit, White Castle has made of business model out of the mantra “Quantity over Quality”.  Their sandwiches are all tiny, and generally served in meals of three or four.  I love White Castle primarily because of the variety and small size of their sandwiches.  I doubt they would be any good on the scale of an average burger.

But enough of my ramblings!!  Now to put the choice to you!!  As always, you can comment if you feel like justifying your opinion.

One Response to “Op-Ed: Sandwich Sizes (plus a poll!!)”


  1. […] burger sauce”, and bacon on a ciabatta-type roll.  I’ve mentioned before that I’m not usually a big fan of sliders, especially when they’re presented as a full […]


Leave a Reply

