Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Big Philly Cheesesteak

October 28, 2009

This was an interesting sandwich for me.  My excitement over a new philly cheesesteak to try was tempered with my previous issues with Subway.  Nevertheless, I hadn’t had a sandwich to review in a while, so I figured it would be a good choice.

Someone may have gotten a little photoshop-happy...

Someone may have gotten a little photoshop-happy...

The main problem with this sandwich is that Subway is rather ill-equipped to make a philly cheesesteak.  Their steak is fine, and they have a couple cheeses to choose from, but they don’t have sauteed onions or mushrooms.  I’m trying to limit my bias as much as possible, but I just find it kind of odd that Subway, a chain which prides itself on variety and options, doesn’t have pretty standard ingredients available.  I ordered mine with mayonnaise, mostly to add a little more flavor.

The cheesesteak tasted alright, it was just somewhat bland and not very authentic.  It also cost upwards of $6 for the sandwich alone, which is a little bit more than I’d like to spend on a disappointing sandwich.  Quiznos has a new Philly Cheesesteak out, which I haven’t tried (rest assured, I will) but it seems like a better bet.  You’re free to disagree though.

After all, Olympic medalist Michael Phelps seems to enjoy Subway quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

