Sandwiches in Review: The McGangBang

July 26, 2010

In keeping with the theme of wretched excess, I decided to risk my life and try the “McGangBang“.  Don’t try to look for the McGangBang on McDonald’s website, you won’t find it.  This unofficial sandwich is a combination of a McDouble cheeseburger and a McChicken chicken sandwich.  It’s known by a number of questionable names, including the McGangBang, the McStroke, and the McMacro (a variant incorporating a side order of french fries and ketchup; I was not so adventurous).

A schematic diagram illustrating the concept.

Now, there’s a lot to discuss regarding this behemoth.  One is ordering it.  It’s possible the cashier at your local McDonald’s has heard of the McGangBang, and will whip one up for you.  It’s also possible that he or she reads Sandwichtalk, and will quickly add it to his or her repertoire.  It’s more likely, however, that your order will be met with a vacant stare, or worse, derision.  This is an easy issue to fix.  Both component sandwiches are on the dollar menu, so you can order them and assemble it yourself, like a puzzle.

The other thing about the McGangBang is that there’s not always a concensus on how it should look.  For example, a number of them look like this:

As you can see, it’s a pretty literal combination, with one sandwich sandwiched inside another.  It works, but I feel it lacks a certain amount of finesse.  I put a bit of a personal spin on it with mine:

Simple yet elegant.

Now before you all tell me I’m “doing it wrong”, remember that I transferred all the elements of the McChicken (chicken, lettuce, mayo) into the McDouble, I just didn’t use the bun because it seemed like overkill.  Also, it’s my blog and I’ll make disgusting sandwiches however I want.  Now, onto the review!!

The sandwich was actually much better than I expected.  It’s definitely over the top, but the grocery list of ingredients (two hamburger patties, chicken, ketchup, mustard, cheese, pickles, mayo, lettuce, and onions) come together in interesting ways throughout the sandwich.  One bite is a juxtaposition of chicken and beef, while the next combines the chicken, pickles, and mayo for a Chik Fil A style taste.  The flavors are continuously changing and recombining.  If I were to do it again, I might include the heel from the McChicken to break up the meat a little bit, but hindsight is 20/20.  It’s a unique sandwich experience, to say the least.

It’s also cheap.  As I discussed before, you can make it yourself for a mere $2, or try to bargain with your cashier.  I can only imagine the carbs, fat and sodium involved, so obviously I have reservations recommending it, but if you want an interesting, inexpensive sandwich and a story to tell your friends, the McGangBang is for you.

P.S.  Don’t worry, Sandwichtalk isn’t going to turn into some Man v. Food-esque show of me choking down ridiculous meals.  This was a suggestion from a friend, and the way current trends are going, I figured I should do it now before it ends up on the menu and becomes more expensive.

Leave a Reply

