Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Breakfast Lineup

October 6, 2010

Sorry for the impromptu hiatus, between classes and work I haven’t had a whole lot of free time to review sandwiches.  A number of you indicated in the poll that you wanted to see some breakfast reviews, and I’m planning to work in that direction for a little while.  It’s a bit difficult because breakfast is usually only served until about 10:30 or so, and the Subway on campus doesn’t actually offer breakfast sandwiches (although they do offer the Seafood Sensation).  However, I was able to track down a Subway at around 10:00 this morning, so I tried the Double Bacon Egg and Cheese omelette flatbread.

Fun Fact: This is the first Sandwichtalk picture taken on my professional Photojournalism class camera. Woo!!

Being a Subway sandwich, the recipe is variable, but the basic ingredients are bacon, eggs, and cheese (I went with cheddar).  The eggs are of a scrambled patty type composition, which is actually way more tasty than it sounds.  The bacon and cheese were fine as well, and the whole sandwich came together in a very filling way.  You can add any of the regular Subway veggies or sauces, but I wanted to keep it basic the first time around.  The flatbread was a nice morning option, and the breakfast line is also available on an English muffin or regular sub roll.

The sandwich was also inexpensively priced at $3.50.  The cost for the breakfast sandwiches varies, but it’s generally between $2.50 and $4.00.  You can add juice or coffee for a quick breakfast on the go.  I’d definitely recommend trying Subway’s breakfast line, I’ll probably check out the Western omelette or the Steak and Egg sandwich soon.

Again, sorry for the sandwich drought, I’ll try to have another post up this week.  Burger King just introduced a new breakfast line as well, and that breakfast club sandwich has my name on it.

One Response to “Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Breakfast Lineup”

  1. Peter Says:

    I’ve been hesitant to try the Subway breakfast line. I’m glad I read this, though, and I’ll certainly try it out pretty soon.


Leave a Reply

