Sandwiches in Review: Quiznos Prime Rib and Peppercorn

December 22, 2010

As long time readers know, I’m partial to Quiznos in general.  I like the way they manage to offer a larger number of options while still guiding you towards favorable combinations.  Also, we had a coupon, so I decided to review the Prime Rib and Peppercorn sub.

Pay attention to the limited offer, it'll be important later.

The Prime Rib and Peppercorn is one of their signature subs, so it has steak as opposed to cold cuts.  It also included mozzarella, sautéed onions, and a (criminally) Mild Peppercorn sauce.  With a name like that, I don’t expect my mouth seared off, but a peppercorn sauce should add some level of spice.  This was barely noticeable.  I was torn while ordering between this and their Prime Rib Mushroom and Swiss sandwich, until I realized they were pretty similar (prime rib, cheese, something sautéed).  This wasn’t a bad sandwich, but it wasn’t a particularly memorable one either.

The Prime Rib and Peppercorn cost around $6, without any sides or drinks.  I’ve mentioned in the past that I love Quiznos for their numerous, well-defined price points.  If you want a $3 sandwich, you can get one.  If you want a $5 sandwich, you can get one.  The flip side of this, however, is that if you don’t want one of their value menu options (which are a bit more limited and rarely rotated), you can end up paying quite a bit for a sub, a bag of chips and a drink.  New subs are put on sale for a little while, but then the price rockets up to standard menu rates.

Have I lost faith in Quiznos?  Not really.  I’d still recommend it for the value menu, and the occasional sale specials.  But I wouldn’t particularly recommend the Prime Rib and Peppercorn.  You can do better than that for the price elsewhere on the menu, not to mention at other restaurants.

Leave a Reply

