Sandwiches in Review: Chili’s Classic Bacon Burger

December 28, 2010

I generally try to avoid reviewing too many sandwiches for any particular restaurant in a row, since I want to cover as wide an array of sandwiches as possible.  However, I was hanging out with some friends last week and we decided to eat at Chili’s.  My friend Matt (East) and I chose the $20 Dinner for Two special, which includes 2 entrées and an appetizer to split for the pittance of $20.  The options for the entrée are somewhat limited, and the Classic Bacon Burger was the only available sandwich.  I don’t often go for simpler burgers like that, but I didn’t have much choice in the matter.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!!

The Classic Bacon Burger includes a patty and bacon (of course), as well as cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles and mayo.  It’s a fairly standard recipe, without much of a hook to get you interested.  But there’s a reason this is such a common menu item.  It works.  This burger was delicious.  The patty was juicy and cooked to perfection, the bacon was crisp but not brittle, the onion added flavor without being overpowering.  Though I try to avoid it, I often find my attention diverted to sauces or buzzwords used to sell new sandwiches.  There’s nothing wrong with a classic every now and then.
 
I’d definitely recommend the Classic Bacon Burger.  As part of the deal, it’s cheap but still satisfying.  As for the appetizer, we shared the Texas Cheese Fries.  They were good, but a half order isn’t much food when split between two people.  Also, since I know they’d bug me about it if I didn’t mention it, Brian and Adam were there too.
 
In other news, I added a search box and some WordPress meta stuff to the sidebar.  Now you can search for keywords instead of just clicking tags, and if you happen to be a WordPress user you can log in to leave comments etc.  I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank  Southwest Michigan Dining for the link, and to welcome any new readers to Sandwichtalk.  I try to update on average about once a week, with sandwich-related news and reviews.
 
Well, that’s pretty much it.  I hope everyone’s holidays were wonderful, and I’ll see you all in the new year!!
Leave a Reply

