Sandwiches in Review: Roadhouse’s Dare Ya Burger

January 29, 2011

I decided to go with a local hotspot this time! University Roadhouse is a restaurant/bar located just outside of Western Michigan University and Kalamazoo College’s campuses. It offers a number of appetizers, burgers and sandwiches, as well as some pretty good drink specials. For this review, I decided to take on the Dare Ya Burger, the biggest and baddest burger they offer.

A burger worthy of Patrick Swayze.

The Dare Ya Burger features a half pound patty topped with smoked ham, bacon, swiss, cheddar, and pepper jack cheese, and served with lettuce, tomato, red onion and jalapeno peppers. I normally go for this type of over the top excess, but this burger really didn’t come together for me. All of the ingredients would’ve been fine on their own, or even in smaller combinations.  I don’t have any complaints about the quality or preparation of any one part of the sandwich. But making a sandwich is like composing music. You need to have a central theme or idea, and work with that, adding elements that complement your idea and avoiding those that work against it. Rather than being a symphony, the Dare Ya Burger ended up as a cacophony of flavors which at $8, I would be hesitant to recommend to anyone.

I feel bad that my first review of Roadhouse is a negative one. They have a number of other tasty burgers and sandwiches, and hopefully I’ll be posting a more positive review of theirs soon. However, a bad burger is a bad burger, and I’d say to skip the Dare Ya.

One Response to “Sandwiches in Review: Roadhouse’s Dare Ya Burger”


  1. […] reviewed Kalamazoo hotspot University Roadhouse once before, when I was disappointed by their Dare Ya Burger.  I was told soon after that by two separate people that the real Roadhouse sandwich I should try […]


Leave a Reply

