Sandwiches in Review: Red Robin’s Bleu Ribbon Burger

February 8, 2011

Last week was my birthday, so I decided to treat myself to a nice dinner out. We went to burger restaurant/bar Red Robin, where I got my meal for free. If you know anything about Red Robin, you know that’s a really good deal, but more on that later. I selected the Bleu Ribbon Burger, one of their Gourmet Burgers.

Happy Birthday to ME!!

The Bleu Ribbon Burger consists of a patty marinated in steak sauce topped with crumbled Bleu cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, crispy onions, and Chipotle mayo. It is, in a word, exquisite. The steak sauce isn’t quite as strong as I expected, and works more nicely with the bleu cheese than a strong sauce would’ve. Crispy onion straws have become a bit played out in the past couple of years, but they really worked well here, and it’s nice having them without their usual partner in crime, barbeque sauce. All of the ingredients were fresh and flavorful, and the burger was enormous, as Red Robin burgers are wont to be. Like all their burgers, the Bleu Ribbon comes with bottomless steak fries, which is a nice side, although I can’t imagine eating more than about an order and a half.

The other nice thing about this burger is that it was free. Red Robin is somewhat sticklerish about their birthday club, and you’re supposed to be a member of the email club, print off a coupon, and bring it in, in addition to presenting photo ID with your birthdate. However, when you’re giving away ten-dollar burgers for free, I guess you have to protect your investment. I’d definitely recommend this burger on your birthday, and furthermore I’d even recommend it at full price. It was that good.

P.S. I added a couple of “Share” buttons to the entries, so if you like what you see, feel free to share it on Facebook or Twitter by clicking the buttons below. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

