Sandwiches in Review: McDonald’s Chipotle BBQ Bacon Angus Burger

February 10, 2011

McDonald’s introduced their Angus burger line some time ago, it’s kind of a premium burger series with bigger patties and fresh toppings like lettuce and tomatoes.  It’s akin to the Whopper at Burger King or other more expensive fast food hamburgers.  They recently debuted a new entry, the Chipotle BBQ Bacon burger.  Though I feel that “chipotle’s” moment has passed, I still decided to give it a shot.

It's coming, it's going, it's taking over our city.

The main point of this sandwich, as well as its biggest problem, is the chipotle BBQ sauce.  McDonald’s boasts of all of the sweet, smoky, and savory elements in the sauce, but I wasn’t really tasting a blend like they described.  It tasted strongly of garlic, and didn’t have the sweetness I associate with a barbeque sauce.  It wasn’t hugely spicy, but the flavor coated the inside of my mouth and stayed for a while.  The addition of onion didn’t help matters any, the combination of the sauce and onion overpowered the sandwich.  I missed out on what looked like pretty good bacon, as well as cheese and pickles.  Even the patty took a backseat.

As an Angus Third Pounder, the combo is a bit more expensive that the usual McDonald’s fare, and not at all worth it.  I’ve had Angus burgers I liked at McDonald’s, but this isn’t one of them.  Skip it.

2 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: McDonald’s Chipotle BBQ Bacon Angus Burger”

  1. Cookie Says:

    I agree! We just tried this burger over the weekend and although, the sauce was pretty flavorful, the bacon was total overkill!


  2. […] blogger for a while now, and things have changed in my absence. McDonald’s once-lauded Angus burger line has been retired. As I’ve stated before, I’m not a fan of the campaign to convince […]


Leave a Reply

