Sandwiches in Review: Wendy’s Asiago Ranch Chicken Club

February 13, 2011

Wendy’s latest sandwich, the Asiago Ranch Chicken Club, has been released with little to no fanfare.  They seem to be putting most of their effort into marketing their new fries with sea salt.  However, after a tip from a friend, I decided to check out the Club, and I’m glad I did.

Sorry, clicking on it won't let you "learn more." That's what the rest of my review is for.

On its surface, the sandwich seems pretty standard.  Chicken (which is available breaded, spicy, or grilled), bacon, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and some ranch dressing.  The decision to include Asiago, however, is inspired.  I’ve always felt that Asiago is an under-utilized cheese in fast food, quickly passed over for cheddar or swiss.  It has a strong flavor reminiscent of Parmesan, but it’s not overpowering.  It goes well with chicken and especially with ranch.  It turns what could have been a dime a dozen chicken club sandwich into something new and interesting.

The Asiago Ranch Chicken Club is a bit more expensive, being a featured item at Wendy’s, which is generally a bit pricier.  However, I’d suggest trying it at least once while it’s available.  It’s nice to see a big chain mix things up every once in a while.

One Response to “Sandwiches in Review: Wendy’s Asiago Ranch Chicken Club”

  1. Lyra Says:

    I had the worst experience at Wendy’s. I ordered ” an Asiago Ranch Chicken Club and small fries” which came out to $9.95. Once I got the nicely folded bag I sampled their fries on my way home. They tasted like salted gruel. They had been sitting for far too long. Once I got home my first bite into the $7 burger it turned out to be spicy and I cannot handle spicy food since it makes everything tasteless. It was my first experience and it is my last.


Leave a Reply

