Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Meatball Pepperoni

March 3, 2011

Sandwich giant Subway is adding a new sub each month to their fabled $5 Footlong line.  The new sub is available for $5 for a month, and then changed out for a different option, ensuring I’ll have work to do for a while.  The first offering is the Meatball Pepperoni, a variation on Subway’s popular Meatball Marinara.

A guy walks into a bar with a slab of asphalt under his arm. He says,"I'd like a beer, and one for the road."

The Meatball Pepperoni is a pretty good sandwich, as Subway sandwiches go.  I’ve always found the cheese options at Subway to be a little lacking, which is strange given how much effort they put into giving you choices elsewhere.  For a meatball sub, I’d go with a mozzarella, or maybe a parmesan, but neither of these cheeses are offered.  I settled on Monterey cheddar, since it’s not too strong and it’s shredded.  The pepperoni was decent, but not hugely noticeable.  There’s not a lot to set this apart from the regular Meatball Marinara sub, which is also a $5 Footlong.  However, if pepperoni is really your thing, then I guess I’d recommend it.  Personally, I’d much rather have a limited time Meatball sub with something like mozzarella cheese or mushrooms.

5 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Meatball Pepperoni”

  1. cM Says:

    What bread would you recommend?

    • sandwichtalk Says:

      Since it’s nominally an Italian sandwich, I’d recommend Italian, or Italian herb and cheese. I’d avoid the flatbread, I can’t imagine it going together very well.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Doesn’t your Subway offer provolone?

    • sandwichtalk Says:

      The two near my apartment do not, actually. That’s one thing I’ve noticed about Subway, some of their veggies and cheeses aren’t standard across the board. I’m not sure why.

  3. Kailee N. Harr Says:

    who was first person to make a meatball sub..


Leave a Reply

