Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Bacon Egg and Cheese with Avocado

June 28, 2011

Subway has recently announced a new initiative to offer avocado as an option for all sandwiches for a limited time.  They mention a couple of sandwiches they feel it goes particularly well with, but I was in the mood for bacon and eggs, so I threw it on the Bacon, Egg and Cheese on Flatbread.

They actually scoop and spread it with an ice cream scoop. I can't decide if this is awesome or disgusting.

In addition to the bacon and eggs, I added some Monterey Cheddar cheese.  The thing to remember about the avocado is that it isn’t guacamole.  It’s thicker, without the spices and other ingredients.  I thought it might be a lot to take, so I added some ranch dressing to cut it.  That ended up being a good choice.  I’m a big avocado fan, but it can be kind of thick and overpowering.  Ideally, I’d like about a 6″ sub’s worth of avocado spread over a footlong, but I doubt they offer that.  All in all, the avocado was an interesting addition, but I can’t see myself adding it again, at least not to this sandwich.

Adding avocado costs an extra 50 cents on a 6″ sub, and an extra $1 on footlongs.  You definitely get your money’s worth, but unless it’s a sandwich that will probably benefit from a big injection of avocado (say, the Chipotle Chicken and Cheese) you may not want to risk it.

Leave a Reply

