Sandwiches in Review: Blimpy Burger

July 14, 2011

Krazy Jim’s Blimpy Burger is another mainstay of Ann Arbor’s local restaurant culture.  Established in 1953 and boasting the slogan “Cheaper than Food,” Blimpy Burger is known for their greasy, made to order cuisine, which includes burgers, french fries, and pretty much any other vegetable which can be dropped in a deep fat fryer.  Blimpy Burger has been featured on both Diners, Drive-ins and Dives and Man vs. Food, with a spotlight on their quintuple patty burgers.  It’s sort of the opposite of Zingerman’s, in that it’s cheap, unhealthy, and down-to-earth.  It is also delicious.

They also make these fantastic polar bear snow sculptures out in front of the building every winter!!

Before I review the burgers themselves, I want to talk for a minute about the restaurant.  Blimpy Burger cooks prepare your burger to order in front of you, and they have a kind of specific method of ordering.  Like many local places including Grand Rapids’ Yesterdog, they have a monopoly on being them, so they sometimes treat their customers somewhat rudely.   The guys working when I visited were great, but I know my brothers have had issues with some of the employees in the past, so be mindful of this.  PRO TIP: if everyone (customers and employees) is patient with each other, we’ll all have a good time.

(As a side note, Yesterdog is terrible.  I’m not even going to dignify it with a proper review.  You can easily make the same food in your house for cheaper without a bunch of punks being jerks to you.)

DE. LICIOUS.

I ordered a triple (three patties) with Bleu cheese, bacon, and mayo, and as I said before, it was great.  The patties are kind of smashed together, which is fine by me.  The bacon is freshly fried on the grill with the hamburger, and it made up about half the sandwich.  It was both thick and crispy, and really made the burger.  The Bleu cheese wasn’t as prominent as in some other burgers, but it was a nice touch.  Next time I might add some grilled onions or mushrooms, but all in all it was a satisfying, filling burger.

Despite their slogan, it was a little pricier than I expected, since both the cheese and bacon cost extra.  All told, my burger came to about $4.50, which I was fine with.  My brother also got a basic double with lettuce, tomatoes, mayo, ketchup and mustard for about $2, which is a great deal.  I’d definitely recommend Blimpy Burger for a quick, fun eat if you’re in downtown Ann Arbor.

One Response to “Sandwiches in Review: Blimpy Burger”


  1. […] It was better than most higher-end fast food burgers, but there are burgers I’ve reviewed on this very blog I would rank higher than it.  Part of it has to be the lack of imagination.  Usual […]


Leave a Reply

