Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Buffalo Chicken

August 5, 2011

Another month, another Subway Featured $5 Footlong.  August’s offering, much to my chagrin, is the Buffalo Chicken sub.  I’ve never been a fan of Buffalo sauce.  It’s spicy without enough of a flavor, and it tastes like vinegar to me (and not in the good “Salt and Vinegar Chips” way).  But I missed last month’s sub, so I figured I owed you guys this one.  I made it my mission to create a Buffalo Chicken sub I could actually enjoy, using the ingredients available to me.  Let’s see how I did!

Apropo of nothing, but doesn't Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol look great? If there's one thing Tom Cruise is good at, it's shooting guns and jumping off of stuff.

I began by adding Monterrey Cheddar cheese, to lessen the bite a bit.  I had it toasted, then applied tomatoes and Ranch dressing.  (Until Subway starts offering real leaves of Romaine lettuce, as opposed to the napkin-like shredded Iceberg they currently use, I won’t be adding lettuce anytime soon.)  It actually ended up being pretty decent.  While Bleu Cheese dressing is really the ideal counterpoint to Buffalo sauce, Ranch is a passable alternative,and the tomatoes added a bit of variety without adding heat, the way the recommended green peppers could’ve.  If I were to do it again, I might add mayo, onions or a stronger cheese, but I enjoyed it as it was.

Being a Featured sub, it’s $5 for a foot-long sub, which if I haven’t mentioned before is a really good deal.  If you like Buffalo Chicken, you’ll probably like this sandwich.  If you don’t, you can try a similar strategy to what I did, or you can skip it altogether.

Leave a Reply

