Sandwiches in Review: Smashburger’s Cherry BBQ, Bacon, & Cheese

September 12, 2011

Smashburger is a relatively new burger chain which opened a Kalamazoo location about a year ago.  They specialize in classic American fare: burgers, fries, shakes, etc.  I’d heard rave reviews, so I decided to check it out.

Can we talk about the logo for a minute? The font and color choice are reminiscent of Gamestop. And by that I mean they're EXACTLY THE SAME as Gamestop.

Smashburger’s interior surprised me in a couple different ways.  Apparently, their name comes from the process of smashing their patties down on the grill as they cook them.  Since one would assume this is pretty important to them, I expected the grill to be out in front, or at least within view, but it was in a kitchen in back like any other restaurant.  Smashburger also lives in that slightly awkward place between fast food and casual restaurant dining.  Orders are brought to the tables, but the bill is paid upfront.  I’m not sure whether tipping is expected, although I assume not.  But with my peccadilloes out of the way, let’s move on to the Cherry BBQ, Bacon, & Cheeseburger.

You guys have no idea how hard it is to go through my image gallery on an empty stomach.

This burger was delicious.  The patties were delicious, juicy and flattened as much as you’d expect.  The Cheddar cheese and fried haystack onions were great, and the barbeque sauce indeed had a moderate cherry flavor (using Michigan cherries!), enough to add an interesting twist but not overpowering.  The use of an egg bun was also inspired in a way you don’t generally see in burger chains.  It was also nice to see a business supporting local economy, although I don’t know if this burger is available nationally.  I’m not usually one to complain about this, but the one thing a burger like this could’ve used is some kind of veggies to offset all of the meat and salt and sugar.  I’m assuming you can get tomato on it without much fuss though, and that would’ve done the trick.

Smashburger is a bit more pricey, especially in that they don’t offer combos.  Burgers run for between $5 and $7, and getting fries (which I highly recommend, they were delicious) or a drink is only going to drive the price higher.  However, they’ve offered numerous coupons on flyers and online, so it’s not too difficult to get a discount.  It’s not a place I’d visit on the spur of the moment, but Smashburger is fantastic and well worth the trip and cost.

3 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: Smashburger’s Cherry BBQ, Bacon, & Cheese”


  1. Thanks so much for trying out Smashburger and for your kind words. We are a local family, and yes, we do all we can to support the local economy. Hope to see you in Smashburger again soon….and as you said, it’s never too hard to find a coupon.

    from the Hendersons, local Smashburger franchisees

  2. bloog Says:

    I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye


  3. […] The lettuce and tomato also helped round out the sandwich in a way I felt the BBQ burger I reviewed last time was missing.  All in all, it was a fantastic, filling […]


Leave a Reply

