Sandwiches in Review: Big Boy’s Kitchen Sink

November 28, 2011

I posted before about being underwhelmed by Big Boy’s new burger line.  I had said that they need some new ideas to really stand out in the world of higher end restaurant hamburgers.  Well, they must have heard me or something, because on my most recent trip to Big Boy I discovered they’ve introduced a burger to end all burgers.  The Kitchen Sink consists of a patty, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, red onion, red relish, mayonnaise, American and pepper jack cheeses, bacon, chili, French fries, and a fried egg.  It was such a daunting prospect that I required some convincing from my brother, but in the end I realized that this is the kind of sandwich I got into the business for, and good or bad, I needed to cover it.

The champagne of burgers!!

And believe it or not, it turned out to be pretty good!!  I know I have a soft spot for excessive burgers, but there’s a lot going right for the Kitchen Sink.  The chili, fries, and egg all work together well for a hearty, filling burger.  As you work your way inward, you begin to reach the more traditional toppings, but the red relish and pickles lend it a sweeter, tangier twist.  It’s a lot of food, but all of the ingredients work together harmoniously enough to keep you engaged.  I would’ve liked more French fries included, as I think potatoes are an underused sandwich element, but overall I was floored by how well a burger which seems like a dare worked.

The Kitchen Sink runs for about $9, which is kind of a lot.  But it’s definitely worth getting, especially to impress your friends.  The chili, egg, fries and bacon combo alone is fantastic, and there’s another burger’s worth of ingredients besides.

2 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: Big Boy’s Kitchen Sink”

  1. Haley Says:

    How many calories is it?

    • Joe Says:

      All of them.

      But seriously, I’m not sure. I’d imagine if you’re in any way calorie-conscious, though, that this is a burger to stay away from.


Leave a Reply

