Sandwiches in Review: The Sausage, Egg and Cheese McGriddles

March 15, 2012

A couple of years ago, I had a pancake-wrapped sausage and it blew my mind.  Although I had spent years dipping sausages into maple syrup, it never occurred to me how wonderful this combination could be.  On the advice of a couple of friends, I decided to try the McGriddles, a McDonald’s breakfast sandwich with a pancake-like bun.  However, I was blinded by my love for bacon, and essentially forgot why I had come.  While the Bacon, Egg and Cheese McGriddles isn’t bad or anything, I thought it was high time I reviewed the McGriddles the way God intended it.

And let me tell you, the Sausage, Egg and Cheese is fantastic.  Although the concept of combining sausage and a sweet bun may sound strange, the combination of salty and sweet is one of my favorite flavors, and I wish more sandwiches would go out on a limb like this.  The eggs add some body, and the inclusion of cheese, while subtle (it is McDonald’s American cheese, after all), rounds out the meal.  My only complaint is that the ingredients taste a little bit too industrial.  I know this is an odd complaint to levy on the world’s biggest fast food producer, but part of it is that I’m not quite used to fast food eggs yet.

Still, it’s a delicious, quick, and cheap breakfast option, especially for those of you like me, who have been somewhat underwhelmed by the average biscuit or bagel breakfast sandwiches.  A combo runs for around $4, and the fact that it’s a sandwich means that unlike most pancake, egg and sausage breakfasts, you can eat it in your car on the way to work.  Win-win!!

2 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: The Sausage, Egg and Cheese McGriddles”


  1. I love egg and sausage and cheese with it


  2. […] yeah, I’d say so. I’m a fan of fast food breakfasts in general, with the McGriddles being my favorite, and it’s pretty standard, in terms of ingredients and quality. The AM […]


Leave a Reply

