Sandwiches in Review: Subway’s Chicken Pizziola

March 27, 2012

Subway has been running a scheme this month.  They’ve introduced their “Italian Collection,” a line of subs featuring combinations of pepperoni and marinara sauce.  These subs are a bit more expensive, running in the $6-7 range for a footlong. To make them seem a bit more like a bargain, Subway has decided to nuke their footlong of the month deal by offering the truly inexplicable Jalapeno Tuna Salad sub, which I will not be trying.  Well played, Subway, well played.

Pretty sure jalapenos and tuna salad is that thing that Meat Loaf wouldn't do for love.

The Chicken Pizziola includes chopped chicken breast, pepperoni, marinara sauce, and cheese.  Mozzarella would’ve been great, but since my Subway doesn’t offer it I went with American.  I also added banana peppers, which as I may have mentioned before can turn a good sub into a great one.  Here, they just helped the sub go from mediocre to decent.  I wanted this sandwich to be good.  I love chicken, and I love pepperoni. But they didn’t come together in a way that tasted real at all.  The sub was a little dry, which may have been my fault for not asking they include more marinara.  I think this sub in theory could work well, but it’d require more of a vision behind the counter than Subway can provide (maybe Quiznos?).

The Chicken Pizziola runs for around $7.  It’s not terrible, and if you really like chicken and pepperoni on a sub you could check it out, but the $5 meatball sub is a much better use of the marinara sauce.  I can’t speak for the rest of the Collection, but it seems to me like a great Italian sub was there on the menu all along.

Leave a Reply

