Sandwiches in Review: Red Robin’s Onion Onion Burger

February 12, 2013

Red Robin can be a little pricey, but they deliver tasty burgers and sandwiches with neat concepts behind them on a fairly regular basis. It’s usually more a question of if I can budget going to Red Robin than if I’m interested. But I had a birthday recently and wanted to celebrate a little, so I headed out to Red Robin and tried their new Onion Onion Burger. I’ve got my thoughts below, but really, it all comes down to your answer to one question:

How much do you like onions?

DC Comics has recently tried to apply the name "Red Robin" to a couple Batman-related superheroes. In the same vein, I'm proud to announce my new vigilante, T.G.I.Friday, the End of the Weak!!

DC Comics has recently tried to apply the name “Red Robin” to a couple Batman-related superheroes. In the same vein, I’m proud to announce my new vigilante, T.G.I.Friday, the End of the Weak!!

There are a LOT of onions on this burger. There are sauteed onions by the boatload. There are crispy fried onion straws mixed in. There’s also a garlic Parmesan spread, but that’s the only non onion-based topping. It even comes on an onion bun. I liked this burger quite a bit. I think the combination of onions and steak is a great one, and I’m always a fan of an interesting bun deployed well. But even as a moderate onion fan, it was a little bit much for me. It’s not the kind of burger you should order every day.

The Onion Onion Burger is actually a little less expensive than most Red Robin burgers at $7.99, probably owing to the relative simplicity and availability of the ingredients. Do not order this burger on a date. Do not order this burger on a business luncheon. Don’t order this burger any time you have to talk to anyone for a prolonged period of time during of after eating it. But if you’re an onion fan like me, and you want to celebrate your love of the onion, then by all means, order this burger.

Leave a Reply

