Sandwiches in Review: The KFC Double Down

May 3, 2010

At long last, a review of the Double Down!!  For those of you who missed the flurry of sandwich-related news reporting over the past few weeks, the Double Down is a “sandwich” offered by KFC which consists of two chicken breasts stacked on top of one another, with cheese, bacon, and Colonel sauce sandwiched in-between.  I posted a short entry on it when I first heard the news, but have been too busy to try it and post a proper review.  Until now.

To begin this review, I need to explain one of the basic principles of food advertising.  When you order the sandwich/ice cream/coffee, it’s not going to look the way it does on TV or in the magazines.  Most of the time, that stuff isn’t even really food, and if it is, it’s been carefully constructed and sprayed with stuff to make it look shiny and appetizing.  This isn’t a big deal, and I’m not saying that anyone should boycott restaurants due to their advertising. 

However,  the Double Down’s TV spots and other ad material deviate from the truth in two key ways.  One, the idea that both chicken breasts will be identical, bun-shaped, and generally easy to pick up and eat is false.  The Double Down is made by an employee grabbing two pieces at random.  There’s no guarantee it won’t be an awkward, unwieldy handful of meat.  The other problem: you know that little paper sleeve everyone has in the ads?  The one that allows you to hold it in your hand indefinitely and eat it like a sandwich?  While they may exist somewhere, the KFC I visited served my Double Down in a box.  Let me tell you, fingertip-burning occurred.  I honestly have no idea how one is expected to eat a Grilled DD.

I am KFC's Double Down. I am a monument to all your sins.

Now, for the eating!!  Honestly, it’s not too hard to imagine what the Double Down tastes like.  KFC’s fried chicken recipe has always been pretty good, and the cheese and sauce, while forgettable, don’t really harm the sandwich at all.  The major problem is the fact that you’re eating a sandwich made out of chicken breasts.  It’s just too much chicken.  Chicken, unlike ground beef, really doesn’t complement itself very well.  It also doesn’t work as a meal.  Fun fact of science: carbohydrates (like bread) fill you up.  That’s why a sandwich is such a satisfying meal to begin with.  Without the bread, the DD leaves you feeling sick, but not full.

Not only is the Double Down not very good, it’s also quite expensive.  The Double Down Combo (which includes the DD, a small side, and a drink) is $7.50.  While I’m sure you can order it a la carte for a little bit cheaper, it also wouldn’t be a good idea to order without a drink, as well as something to break up the monotony of meat.  Not that I’d expect anyone to purchase the DD regularly, for health and becoming-a-social-pariah reasons, but it’s too expensive to purchase on a lark.

Overall, the Double Down is a refuge-in-audacity based marketing gimmick, which attempts to sully the good name of sandwich.  I would encourage readers not to waste their money on it.  After all, KFC has much better sandwiches available for much more reasonable prices.

8 Responses to “Sandwiches in Review: The KFC Double Down”


  1. I actually loved the Double Down. I think it’s quite delicious, but it’s ridiculously overpriced. To get the Double Down by itself costs $5. You could get a sub from subway for that much. More food, plus bread, plus healthiness.
    I’m glad it’s expensive though. If it was a $1 or $1.50, I would buy them a lot (and destroy myself) as opposed to now when I’ve only had one (and plan on that being the only).

    I also agree on the cheese and sauce being forgettable. I think they’re slightly spicy, but they don’t affect the sandwich as much as the chicken and bacon. Oh well.


  2. […] 15, 2010 Seemingly in an effort to top KFC’s recent abomination the Double Down, family restaurant chain Friendly’s has introduced the Grilled Cheese BurgerMelt, a large […]


  3. […] like barbeque pulled pork and steak sauce, but this is just kind of gross.  In the same way the Double Down had too few carbs, this looks to have far too many.  Even with the addition of the pickles, […]


  4. […] 26, 2010 In keeping with the theme of wretched excess, I decided to risk my life and try the “McGangBang“.  Don’t […]


  5. […] right has to do with what made the Double Down so wrong in the first place.  As I said in that review, the Double Down has way too much meat and cheese, and without carbs to balance it out, it feels […]


  6. […] the tradition of the KFC Double Down and other infamous meals, Taco Bell has released the Doritos Locos Tacos, a taco supreme wrapped in […]


  7. […] Doublicious, which itself was (my theory) a way to salvage the good parts of the shock value-based Double Down. I’ve been a fan of King’s Hawaiian even longer than that, ever since a friend and […]


  8. […] theory, except that two processed chicken patties is way too many for one sandwich. The reason the Double Down worked (outside of wretched excess) is that KFC chicken is good. Burger King chicken is not that […]


Leave a comment